Oscar Predictions: Best Supporting Actor

My girlfriend swears I'm sexier.

Most years, this is my favorite race when it comes to the Academy Awards. Especially in a year like this where there really are no front runners. Even better, the actual possible nominees are up in the air. Anytime there’s actually a competition to a category, it gets me excited to watch. With that said, let’s break it down.

Kenneth Branagh, My Week With Marilyn

Well respected actor/director taking a break from the Shakespearean ghetto he’s imposed upon himself for almost 30 years, he’s been scoring the majority of notices in all the reviews and early buzz. If the film is well liked, he’s getting in no matter what.

Albert Brooks, DRIVE

I honestly wasn’t a fan of the performance but most people disagree with me on that. Albert Brooks is hilarious and a guy who can make people laugh but knows how to be menacing is usually a safe bet.George Clooney, The Ides Of March

I know that an actor scoring two nominations in one year is rare, but remember just how much George Clooney is loved. The man is basically sex wrapped in chocolate, and I say this as a straight man. Simply put, any person who claims to not like the man is a liar and should not be trusted alone with children. Also, if he scores the nomination in this category, I think that just makes it so much more likely for him to win in the leading category for The Descendants. 

Christopher Plummer, Beginners

A great actor who has spent most of his career totally under the radar. Playing gay is usually a great way of getting nominated. Not only does he have that in his favor but it’s also an amazing performance. Plummer will probably even end up winning.

John C. Reilly, Rampage

looks to be a hilarious performance and the Academy Awards need to appreciate how hard comedy is to effectively pull off.

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Movies, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment